shopping

by baekcat

For those of you who know me, you might have noticed that i may have a teeny problem with my shopping habits-i just can’t seem to stop. No really, i literally can’t stop shopping. It has gotten to the point whereby i had to delete various clothing store applications to stop myself from compulsively refreshing them every minute. 

I go online, see something i like, take a look at the price, and form some twisted cunning plan to get it. It’s almost like my brain is set on automated mode to come up with plans to help me get whatever piece of clothing/shoe/accessory i want whenever i’m browsing through online stores. 

For some reason, i always have the mentality that i can and will get whatever i want (because i do get whatever i want most of the time) when no, i do not always have to get whatever i want and i should invest my time in a healthier habit, like reading. 

Now that i think of it, my semi compulsive shopping habit may have been fueled by what seems to be some sort of ‘control’ that i would be able to have while shopping. Nothing better than carting out a shit load of stuff (that i probably can’t even wear in Singapore) and receiving parcels right? And don’t even get me started on the addictive feeling of satisfaction whenever i buy something. Oh it’s scary alright. 

It’s pretty bad (very bad) because i’m supposed to be saving for my London trip next year (& possibly a Alexander Wang Rocco bag). 

“Be content with what you have;
rejoice in the way things are.
When you realize there is nothing lacking,
the whole world belongs to you.” 
― Laozi

(I should probably repeat that to myself everyday like a mantra or something)

(On a side note, spring is a good time to stay away from clothing stores, i swear)

